what to say about this week?

I have a lot of thoughts, not sure how to put them into words. Wednesday I got a call from my mom to tell me that one of our close family friends, a young man that was 23, had died in his sleep. Not something that’s on your radar screen when you wake up in the morning. He was working at the summer camp where I also worked in college. I can picture where he was. Amanda wrote about this, but I have to echo that they are the kind of family, the kind of parents, that you want to be like. I am especially found of this man’s mother. She had four boys. She was super close to all of them. They all talked…about everything. They are the kind of young men you want your kids to be like.

The ripple effect of this situation is huge. So many people affected. So many people that I care about. It’s the kind of sadness that sits on your chest. Heavy.

Then, in the midst of this, we who are left behind have to keep living. It seems like the world should stop. For a little while at least. But it doesn’t. It was my last week at the NICU. In thinking about that job, I have to describe it like a really great coat. You love the style of the coat, you love the color. The idea of the coat. But it doesn’t really fit the right way. You can still wear it. It keeps you warm, but this kind of coat could was made for someone else. We found that someone else. She’s a woman who has eight year old twin boys who were born at 25 weeks. She and her husband spent five months in the NICU with them. They daily deal with the long term effects of prematurity like eye problems, cognitive delays, and cerebral palsey. Through her experience however she has dreamed of giving back and supporting parents who are experiencing what she went through. She has dreamed of this job for several years. It’s perfect. I’m reminded that God is working all the time. I’m reminded that His blessings can be seen as threads through difficulty and tragedy. I’m reminded that my obedience is essential to realize my full potential…and sometimes it paves the way for others to have opportunities also.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to what to say about this week?

  1. Amanda says:

    I love you Julie. I need a Julie-coffee-night-out. It might take a realllly loooonnngggg tiiiiiimmmmmmeeeeee.

  2. dawn says:

    It has been an incredibly difficult week for all of us. But what an awesome young man he was, and the ripple effects of his life will go on for a long time. The service was amazing. Luke preached tonight, which was just the perfect ending for an amazing week-end – God orchestrated it all. All of the Walker family who came for the funeral got to be here for Ryan and Emily’s sending service this morning – what an amazing set of cifrcumstances through such sadness. I wish you could have been here!

  3. sherry says:

    I didn’t realize you had written this until just now. This is perfect. I second Amanda, a Julie coffee night is ALWAYS needed. Love you.

Leave a comment